Patient Stories

splash-small4

Read Our Online Reviews

Read Client Testimonials Categorized By Condition

Below are client stories we have collected in our office over the years.  Thank you to everyone for all your kind words and support, we are honored to be of service!

Pain of Neck & Head

Migraines
My migraines started around 12 years ago when I was in college. I suffered from them in my early teens but nothing like this. I was getting hospitalized about once or twice a month, blurred vision, deafening sounds, black outs, nausea to the point where I couldn’t keep water down. The would drug me up for a few days to sleep it off, but no luck on stopping the migraine.

After seeing a few specialists my migraines were under control; however I was taking 4 medications a day and more if I had a headache. I could not consume too much caffeine, had to get a certain amount of sleep, etc, or else the migraines ruled my life.

When I moved to Illinois in July 2007 and spoke to my new neurologist about alternative medicine she recommended Frank to me. He met with me and was very realistic, he would give it a shot, but with my history there was a chance it wouldn’t work. After a few weeks of treatment I came down to 2 pills a day from 3, then down to 1 from 3. Then we tried to drop the final pill and it was horrible, so I waited a few more weeks and tried again and it was great!

After 12 years of medication, I had my first week of NO MEDICATION. I did not have to take a single Tylenol or Maxalt or anything, no headaches or migraines. I have been off migraine medication for 2 minths now, after 12 years of relying on medication on a daily basis just to function, this is everything I hoped for.

On top of all of this, Frank helped my pinched nerve I have had in my back since I was in a car accident in college!

—- S.V. 33 y/o female —-

Migraine Relief
I never thought I’d see the day when I’d live a migraine free life, but now I feel like it’s so close I could touch it! Thanks to acupuncture I have gone from having an average of up to 22 migraines a MONTH, down to 10 a month at most. I even have months that are as few as 5 or 6 migraines! I have been struggling with this condition since I was 13 years old, and was about to give up when I finally tried acupuncture. I had tried medications, chiropractors, meditation, diet, exercise, and would have tried standing on my head if someone had shown me an article stating that it would work for migraines! I was at the end of my rope and feeling like I wasn’t really living life. Thanks to Naperville Acupuncture Center, I have my life back, and I’m looking forward to a lifetime of migraine free days!!!

— D. S. 30 y/o female — 

Neck Pain & Low Energy
I saw Dr Grill at an educational outreach event and saw him give short lectures and treatments to several people. He demonstrated a muscle relaxation technique that does not require the use of acupuncture needles. I was lucky to have that technique tried on me and it gave me instant relief.

I came in for additional treatments for muscle tension and they were successful. Dr Grill also gave me a general acupuncture treatment for spleen deficiency and in a day it improved my energy level.

My treatment experience has been very positive along with the very attentive attitude of the staff. Thanks very much.

Neck & Chest Pain
I first showed up at Naperville Acupuncture Clinic on a Wednesday, having been in awful pain for four days. I began experiencing intense pain in one of my chest muscles after doing my usual set of pushups. I met Angela (who works with Frank at Naperville Acupuncture Clinic), who noticed I was wearing a heat patch over the pain. She told me about being a nurse and working for a wonderful acupuncturist.

I called the next day for an appointment. I was desperate for some relief from the pain because it was interfering with most of my daily activities. Frank first explained to me what he thought was going on with my muscle and asked me if I would like to give acupuncture a try. I said yes, and I am so glad that I did. I remember sitting in the chair and Frank inserting needles (which did not hurt at all) near my knee. The pain lifted like magic. I couldn’t believe it! I wasn’t expecting it to work that fast. I walked out thinking of all the things I was going to get done that I hadn’t been able to do because of my pain. The pain had improved by over 50% during my first appointment. I continued to go two times a week for the next couple of weeks and now my pain is completely gone.

I am so grateful to Frank, and to Angela, who told me about Frank. They are both so nice and accommodating and their mission really is to help people get healthy and feeling better.

S.W.

Pain of Shoulder & Upper Arm

Left Shoulder Pain, Sciatica, Interrupted Sleep Patterns
I had suffered with sciatica for over a month. I had several treatments during that period. Four days after starting the Chinese herb formula, the pain went completely away. I also had interrupted sleep patterns. The herbs were helpful as I slept at least 6 uninterrupted hours. Also my left shoulder (in upper back area) had developed a “knot”. After one treatment, the pain was released. I also have more energy after the treatments. My lower back at times feels
compression pressure. The treatments release this pressure quickly. This is more than amazing to me!
C.B. 
Shoulder Pain
I came to Naperville Acupuncture Center because I have a very severely torn rotator cuff and at my age surgery was not an option. Frank has worked with me with acupuncture and it has more than helped me with the pain. There are even days when I am almost free of the pain. I highly recommend this procedure for anyone suffering from any type of body pain, be it leg, back, hip, arthritis pain, go into sessions with an open mind and the rewards will be great.
V. D. 
Shoulder Pain
2 or 3 months ago I had a sharp pain in my shoulder which limited the use of that arm. I tried heat and I also tried ice, but nothing relieved the pain. I finally saw my primary care doctor and he prescribed 500mg’s of an anti-inflammatory drug twice a day for 15 days. This did not give me any relief. The next step was to get a cortisone shot in that shoulder. I really did not want to do that. A friend had a similar problem and swore by acupuncture. I only half believed in it, but thought what did I have to lose. After consulting with Frank, I saw that he was very knowledgeable and had empathy for people in pain. I started treatment that day. It took only 4 treatments to be relieved of the pain I had for over 3 months. I have certainly become a believer in acupuncture and tell everyone my story.
Female, 63 years old 
Left Neck and Shoulder Pain
After experiencing pain in my left neck and shoulder for a long period of time I tried Dr. Grill and acupuncture. The pain was interfering with my daily activities. After one treatment, to my great surprise the pain was mostly gone. 
—- Female, 62 years old —- 

Pain of  Elbow, Wrist & Hand

Hand (Bone) Pain
I developed severe bone pain and weakness in both hands as a result of chemo medication that I needed to be on for 5 years following breast cancer. I had been in pain for 8 months! I tried acupuncture as a last resort. A few weeks later, the pain was totally gone! I could not believe it! Frank & Angela are wonderful and very caring people! I’m continuing acupuncture just to insure my better health.
—- Female 57 y/o —-
Wrist and Arm Pain
If there are any of you wondering about how my left wrist is doing, read on. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been dealing with left wrist problems for a long time that finally came to an INCONCEIVABLY painful head on June 26th. It was so bad, that I honestly thought that my guitar playing days were over. Luckily and thank God, they don’t seem to be over just yet. I’ll let my lame and awkward guitar playing take care of that!…The cause of the problem seems to
simply be the obvious one: I went from playing just one or two shows a month, to instantly playing about 20 (4-5 shows a week).

I first went to a specialist and had x-rays done. No signs of any problems there. Felt we would wait on an MRI and see how the wrist/hand progresses. From there, I went to a massage therapy session. It was great and it did seem to help, but it was a temporary fix (my wrist started acting up in just a few days).

Recently we did do an MRI and found that I do have a tendon problem and a ligament problem. One is deteriorating; the other has a sliiiiight tear. I forgot which one has which thing. But even though those problems are visible, they’re not in the areas of the wrist/hand that give me problems when I play. Well, being the world’s biggest chicken when it comes to needles you’ll all be surprised to know that I decided to try acupuncture.

There is NO QUESTION in my mind that acupuncture works. At the very first session, the majority of my discomfort that day was on the top of my hand (back of my hand) and the moment the needles went in (to my right calf, ankle, and foot by the way), I was fine. No BS. I could open and close my hand (tightly) with no problems whatsoever.

I went in for 3 sessions a week in the first two weeks, then two sessions over the next two weeks. My wrist/hand was definitely doing much better than it had over the weeks just prior to getting acupuncture. Well, during the past weeks of gigs I have to say that I definitely noticed that my wrist wasn’t bothering me much at all anymore. Definitely no major pains like before (and no crying either) and little to none of the tightness in spots. I’ve been doing the stretches and massages that my acupuncturist taught me and I’m constantly focusing on relaxing while I play.

So, if you’re suffering from something that you think acupuncture might help, I definitely suggest looking into it. You won’t know whether it works for you or not unless you try. And if you’re looking for a great place to go where the people are extremely nice and, most importantly, honestly concerned about helping you feel better, please visit the website of Naperville Acupuncture Center.

— Dave Benzinger, The Guitar Player —
www.davetheguitarplayer.com

Left Arm Restriction
Frank,
As you will recall, my left arm I was feeling much better after my acu- sessions with you. The improvement continues. I am now able to use my left arm without restrictions. I’m as strong on my left kayak stroke as with my right. I am confident in using the chain saw. And more importantly, I swim daily without pain. While doing the crawl, I can reach out with my left hand just like I should; pulling the arm through the water feels great. Like swimming should! Thanks for your healing touch. Sincerely,
—- B.F. 67 y/o male —-
Arm Pain
I will have to admit that I was skeptical, but nothing else was working. I had a problem with pain in the shoulder, upper and lower arm. In addition, I was experiencing periods of numbness in the hand. I was going for massage therapy, but that wasn’t working. I then saw my doctor and got these pills to take and it will get better. After completing the thirty-day supply of pills from the doctor and the two refills for sixty more days, I was still in pain. I had also continued with the massage therapy along with medication treatment. My wife had seen Frank for tendonitis and gotten relief, however the thought of needles was not appealing to me.

Since nothing else was working I went in to see Frank. I found that the needles were not as bad as I imagined and began treatment. I began seeing some results in the first couple of weeks. Over all, it took 16 weeks to fix all the problems, but I have spent the last two weeks pain free. During the treatment, Frank routinely asks if there are any new problems.

One week I had developed a problem where I was having lower back problems making it painful to transition from a seated position to standing. I was grabbing on to arms on chairs or whatever else was nearby to aid in the process. Frank inserted two needles and told me to stand up. I started to lift myself out of the chair with my arms as I had needed to do in the waiting room. To my surprise, it did not bother me. I then sat back down and tried again, this time without any aid. STILL NO PAIN! OK, by this time in my treatment I was showing signs of getting better, but I was not expecting the pain to go away instantaneously. This was over a month ago, and I have not had a reoccurrence!

—- Male, 51 years old —-

Wrist Pain, Anxiety, Insomnia
I had been interested in acupuncture and was fortunate to meet frank at an expo. It really didn’t take many treatments to start feeling relief from my wrist pain, anxiety and insomnia. It is so worth it and I am feeling better than I have felt in a long time. I highly recommend it. They really make you feel so comfortable in the office.
A.K.

“Many blessings and thanks for your healing. I have a lot to learn from you. My wrist feels phenomenally well!!
C.F.

Pain of Spine & Back

Back Pain/ Sciatica
Before I decided to go to see Dr. Grill, I went to a Chiro. I had terrible lower back pains that shot down both legs. 5 sessions in to the Dr. at Whitney Chiro, he recommended Naperville Acupuncture Center. I met with Frank and decided to give it a shot. I admit I was a little skeptic at first, but I’m glad I took the leap. 5 sessions later no back pains! Thanks everyone at Naperville Acupuncture.
—- Male, 28 years old —-
Chronic Back Pain
I am a very active 75 y/o who has had back problems since childhood. I have had a laminectomy 30 years ago and have had many session of physiotherapy, do aerobics and walk. A year ago nothing seemed to help and pain kept getting worse. I had more physiotherapy and Cortisone shots, short term it helped. I also have arthritis. My daughter found an ad for Acupuncture and told me about it. I called Frank and he saw me immediately and explained the procedure to me. I’ve been going twice a week for a few months now and it has helped. It seems to relax me and ease the pain, so it’s bearable. I can walk further, before it hurt; it’s much better than surgery, which is what the doctors want to do. Angela his assistant is also very kind and helpful. I have and would recommend acupuncture to my friends and family.
M. S.” 
Back Pain
I have been coming to Frank for almost 6 Months. When I started, I had tremendous back pain from a car accident. I tried chiropractors and massage. That was only relief at that moment. With acupuncture, my back pain is almost non-existant. I strongly recommend Frank and the Naperville Acupuncture Center.
D.K.
Chronic Back Pain
In September, after 6 months of steroid shots, my pain management doctor declared there was nothing more he could do for me. He sent me to the back surgeon. The back surgeon, upon reviewing my MRI recommended extensive back surgery for stenosis, arthritis and scoliosis. A friend suggested I see her chiropractor who was not able to help me and when I asked if he did acupuncture he referred me to Frank.

When I came to Frank, I could only stand or walk for 10 minutes and had to sit down to relieve the pain. We began acupuncture the first of November with 3 treatments a week. Thanksgiving week I was shopping at JoAnn Fabrics for about 45 minutes when I realized that I was not in pain. So, in about a month I was pain free. We tapered off the treatments and are currently working on my knees, the pain level having improved greatly.

I am grateful for Frank’s skills and patient education. I feel wonderful and have regained my old confidence and bounce.

—- 69 y/o female —-

Back Pain
My name is Dave and my wife is Judy. A couple months ago we were at COD for a home show that is when she met Frank and Angela. You see she had breast cancer a year ago, since then she has had a clear bill of health, however for 5 years she has to take estrogen blockers to help prevent the cancer from reoccurring. Sometimes there are side effects, in her case bone pain, BIG TIME in her hands. She tried everything, nothing worked that is until she met Frank, a few days later she saw Frank again, and had acupuncture done, that night out of the clear blue she said that “80% of the pain was gone!” That’s when I said sign me up, my problem is a herniated disc (major back pain) long story short, 3 weeks later Judy’s pain was almost completely gone and the same for me. Thanks Frank you have changed our lives.
—- D.J. 58 y/o male —- 

Pain of Knee, Lower Leg & Foot

Severe Neuropathy
I was diagnosed with severe neuropathy in both feet by my neurologist. After trying physical therapy for 2 years, therapy for 4 months, and being on Celebrex and Gabapentin (Neurontin) for a number of years my feet were still in terrible pain all the time. My neurologist recommended trying acupuncture. She also recommended that I try Frank Grill she heard good things about the Naperville Acupuncture Center.

During the consultation visit Frank said if I didn’t see an improvement after the 1st few times acupuncture would not help my feet. I thought this was a very honest approach to treating my condition.

After the 1st and 2nd treatment my feet felt better than they had in years. Frank does such a great job explaining about acupuncture and how it works and what he is doing. I was very skeptical but I felt it was the last thing I could do to help the pain in my feet.

After 4 weeks of treatment my feet are so much better. I am no longer in constant pain. I can get around better and I am able to exercise and do things and the pain does not come back.

I have had such positive results and I highly recommend acupuncture, especially with Frank at Naperville Acupuncture Center.

—- K.H. 59y/o female —-

Pulled Hamstring
It was the day before my Second Degree Belt testing. In addition, I had pulled my hamstring at a Thursday night class. It hurt so bad that I could not even walk well enough to go to school. I had trained for that test for two years, and everybody doubted that I could do that test now.

My parents had called Frank, because he had helped me many times before. He was kind enough to let me come in to his office on Friday morning. I was determined to still test, and I knew that he was the only one who could make testing possible for me. He confirmed that it was pulled hamstring, and did his MAGIC. After my appointment, he had fixed my hamstring up so that I could walk without pain.

Now, I could test. On Saturday, I became a Second Degree Black Belt in Tae-Kwan-Do.

Thank you so much Frank for helping me at that time, as well as many other times. Therefore, thanks to you knowledge and expertise I was able to do the impossible and test that day. Thank you.

—- S.B.Female, 13 y/o —-

 

Other Conditions

Raynaud's Phenomenon
I have been suffering from Raynaud’s Phenomenon for more that 15 years and have tried various prescription drugs. However their side effect outweighed there benefits and I have given up. Ever since I started acupuncture there is a noticeable improvement in the appearance of my hands. I also noticed improved digestion and increased energy levels.
D.S.” 
Dizziness
I came to Frank after suffering massive dizzy spells caused by a spider bite which was mis-diagnosed for many months. The seratonin was off and the bite was in the crack of my nose, which made it almost impossible to heal. Frank treated my dizziness and anxiety with acupuncture. The spider bit totally closed and I can walk again without getting dizzy. He balanced my body and mind. I am so grateful!
G.L. 
Cramping and Stiffness
This letter is long overdue! Well over one year ago I was experiencing some cramping and stiffness in my right hand between my thumb and first finger. I tried resting it, icing it, massaging it and daily doses of Advil. Rather then wasting money at my doctors office and having to undergo xrays and possible medicine or to have no diagnosis at all, I remembered my good friend who worked for an acupuncturist named Frank Grill. I met with Frank and had several treatments for my hand pain. I actually found the treatments to be relaxing! Frank was very thorough and knowledgeable. He explained everything to me so I could fully understand the fundamentals of Acupuncture. He spent a lot of time with me before my treatments to learn all about me and my health. I am happy to report that I have no more discomfort at all in my hand! I felt relief after the first few treatments and have not experienced any pain since. I would return to Frank again should I ever need acupuncture even if it was for a different ailment. I would highly recommend him to others. I personally feel more people should be open to trying this ancient method of treatment! Many thanks to Frank and his wonderful staff.
—- 41 y/o female —-

Sjorgren's Syndrome (dry mouth)
I was diagnosed with Sjogren’s Syndrome in 1985. One of the results is persistent mild to moderate dry mouth. The acupuncture treatment by Frank has given me significant and lasting relief. I produce more saliva and my mouth is much less dry. It is easier to chew and swallow food and I am much more comfortable.
—- J.N. 66y/o Female —- 
Fibromyalgia
I have been coming to see Frank now for quite a few months, while taking a short period off for surgery. Initially, I saw Frank for relief from Fibromyalgia, A chronic and painful muscular, auto-immune condition I’ve had for nine years. It wasn’t long at all before I began to experience some relief due to Frank’s expertise and compassion. After only a few sessions I began to feel a decrease in pain in some of my muscle groups, but mostly in my legs, which was a major breakthrough for me. Stairs and other activities became easier to handle daily. I attribute the progress I’ve encountered to acupuncture and other procedures Frank has performed during our sessions. His various treatments have definitely made a difference in how I feel.

I am now having treatments to help alleviate pain due to rotator cuff surgery. In addition to my regular physical therapy, having acupuncture treatments has helped to speed up my recovery. I’m impressed with acupuncture and will continue to utilize it as an avenue to relieve pain. Frank’s knowledge and concern make this a worth while alternative to other types of medicine.

Chronic Illness
Living with a chronic illness makes acupuncture an essential addition for healing. This form of healing adds immensely to my medical treatment. It enhances my life by giving me more physical and emotional healing naturally. Frank Grill’s caring, highly professional expertise is a great gift to anyone who need more on their path to becoming health as possible.”
Thankfully,
R. A.

As a result of last night clinic I feel this a.m.:

  • A lack of morning achyness all over (which is typical)
  • Especially less pain or none in neck, back, legs and head
  • Feet are more numb than achy or burning

Just thought I better get this down on paper!

G. H.

Multiple Conditions
I started seeing Frank a few months ago for headaches, sinus and allergies, digestive problems, hormonal and irregular periods and several other issues. Since seeing Frank, all of my conditions have improved and now I sleep through my treatments and look forward to the cupping.
G.K. 

Respiratory Conditions

Chronic Sinus Problems
My condition with my sinus was really bad. I suffered for many years. When I came to the office I was congested. My daughter was the one who recommended me to come here. I discussed my situation with Frank. I told him how I felt. So far has improved a lot. Depending on the weather, I feel that my sinus is triggered. I believe that natural cure is the best. I share my story to everyone.
A.T. 
Multiple Symptoms
I started acupuncture with Frank about 5 years ago. At various times I went for sleep problems, back, hip, shoulder pain and sinusitis. After a few visits my problems cleared up. If I continue to go once a month or so for maintenance I feel really good. Occasionally I let “life” get in the way and missed treatments for a while and my old ailments start to crop up once. I started listening to my body. Frank and Angela are really good about getting you in on short notice.

Recently, with all my physical issues at bay, I decided I wanted to try facial rejuvenation. Over the course of once a week for six-week visits it worked extremely well getting rid of my spider veins on my cheeks. So much so I quit using tinted moisturizer to conceal them. Although I didn’t see much change in my “jowl” area I got a lot of comments from people telling me how good I looked even though I didn’t tell anyone I was doing the rejuvenation.

However, the very best part of an acupuncture session is the best and most complete relaxation I get when I’m “on the table.

—- P.C. 56 y/o female —-

Women’s Health

Menopause, Hot Flashes
My life was a series of putting on and taking off sweaters, dabbing my forehead with cold water, fanning myself in an attempt to cool off after a hot flash. I used soy, topical progesterone, anything to try and regulate my body temperature. Nothing really worked.

I heard about frank from a patient of his and thought I would give acupuncture a try. I was a bit apprehensive and nervous about the “needle thing” but after talking with Frank, I felt very at ease and confident in his expertise and abilities.

After my first visit, the hot flashes subsided a bit but I found my overall wellness to have greatly improved. I felt energized and better than I had (felt) in years! As we continued treatment, I experienced small temperature fluctuations but NOTHING like before treatment. Now, when I feel a flash coming on, it quickly subsides. I sleep “like a baby” and wake up refreshed and ready for the day.

Treatments are something I look forward to. The procedure is relaxing and gives me a chance to take a “time out” from a hectic schedule. The after affects have been nothing but pleasant for me. I hope to continue with Frank to reach my healthiest potential and ward off other ailments.

—- Female, 54y/o —-

Pain Relief
A thanks just doesn’t seem enough for all that you have done for me. Your treatments have given me a life without pain. You are not only an excellent acupuncturist, but also a devoted person in helping to cure your patients. Keep up the good work. A happy and healthy patient!
—- 58 y/o female —- 

Stress & Anxiety

Stress and Muscle Tension
I want to thank-you for my introduction to acupuncture. You have made my experience very informative and helpful. I am totally happy with the results I have had and hope to continue to have.

I still can’t believe how well I feel and how much it helps me throughout my life. I can work in my garden longer my stamina is so much better and I don’t get sore from the workout.

The aches and tight muscle I experienced from the stress at work have gone. I know that this will be a lifelong gift that I will do for myself.

Thank you both for sharing your knowledge and expertise.

—- S.P. female —-

Smoking

Stop Smoking
I came to Frank after realizing I had to put a stop to my smoking. I had tried everything to quit on my own and couldn’t. After speaking with Frank and Angela at an Expo I thought I would give them a call. I had smoked for about 7 years and I am asthmatic. It was imperative that I quit soon for my own health. So I reached out to Frank. I was comfortable with what the acupuncture treatment entailed and was anxious to give it a shot. After one treatment my cravings diminished tremendously. My mental shove helped me the rest. Every day it’s easier and easier.

I have been telling all the smokers I know. Any chance I can to give hope to someone else who wants to quit I will. My best advice to anyone is to try it. You might surprise yourself. And you will definitely help yourself.

—- 24 y/o female —-